Remember Me?

Read from October 31 to November 02, 2015

Remember Me?Remember Me? by Sophie Kinsella

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

3.75/5

Sophie Kinsella never fails to tickle my funny bone. When Lexi woke up at the hospital with a huge chunk of her memory gone, I expected her to be in absolute shock. Well, she definitely was but then the whole thing was written in such a funny way that I pretty much snorted my way through the first six chapters. Loved the Harry Potter and Narnia references too.

I had this feeling in the beginning that there was something off about Eric. By the time chapter fourteen rolled by, I was halfway convinced that he’s probably going to end up being some weirdo. I mean, who invoices their own wife?? His neat freakiness was a bit alarming as well. As I kept reading, Jon’s words started making more sense and Eric just got weirder.

I thought it was pretty mean when the entire Flooring department made fun of Lexi even though she clearly tried her best to shed her “Bitch boss from Hell” image. It was pretty awesome that she evetually made up with Fi, Debs and Carolyn. Rosalie turned out to be a true friend, even though I initially thought she was going to be the “blonde” character of the story.

I’m glad Lexi couldn’t save the department because it meant her having her own business to share with her best friends. As for Byron, I hope he ended up rotting in Dell Carpets with the worst job title one can think of.

I secretly hoped Lexi would regain all her lost memories. Unfortunately, that would have made the story a bit unrealistic. Getting back just a little thread was good enough, I guess. Leaving Eric was for the best. He was an emotionless sock puppet anyway. I felt like Jon didn’t have much of a role in the story (maybe I’m wrong), although he kept popping in several times and he did end up with Lexi towards the end.

Overall, this was a pretty good book. I laughed quite a lot, particularly when Lexi thought she must have been Gandhi in another life to have scored a trophy husband in this one.

 

Leave a Reply

