Looking for Alaska

Read from July 18 to August 08, 2015

Looking for AlaskaLooking for Alaska by John Green

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

In order to best describe my feelings about this book, I’m going to divide my review in to three parts (Before, During and After), because boy do I have a lot to say.

So let’s begin.

Part 1: Before

I was so excited to read this because a lot of people had told me how captivating and emotional it was. They also mentioned how Alaska was the probably one of the most beautiful characters ever written. Naturally, I had a lot of expectations and I really wanted this book to live up to the hype.
This was me the moment I began reading:

description

Part 2: During

Unfortunately, I had a very different opinion of this book unlike my friends who recommended it to me. I never like to criticize any book because I believe that a lot of hard work was put in to making it, and it clearly would not have been published had it not been good. I have to say though, that it was a bit of a let down after having read TFIOS. I took so long to finish it because I literally kept nodding off every time I read a few pages.

description

This was Alaska to everyone including Miles:

description

This was what I thought of her:

description

Part 3: After

This was me after finishing the book:

description

Overall, I really didn’t like this book. Everything was just too mysterious and messed up. There was nothing awesome in the way Alaska glorified underage smoking and drinking. Miles came off as someone who was desperate to be cool and accepted. Such a sad, sad book. I’m giving it 1 star only because I love John Green.

description

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Sarah says:

    I just bought this book, and I’ve definitely heard some love/hate commentary on it. Ugh that stinks that it is such let down…I have a friend who has read a lot of John Green, and after she read The Fault in Our Stars first, everything else was more disappointing I guess?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did like two of his other books too. They weren’t as good as TFIOS but they were still quite interesting. Looking for Alaska was a let down for me and it’s probably because I expected too much (thanks to all the hype it received). This is just my opinion though. You might actually end up liking it so you should definitely read it 🙂 Do let me know what you think when you finish the book

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sarah says:

        Of course 😁

        Like

Leave a Reply

