The Alchemist

Read from October 26 to 27, 2015

The AlchemistThe Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

2.5/5
This book was interesting in a weird way. I’ve always wanted to read it (to know what the hype was all about) but was never really in the mood to actually go buy myself a copy. The story started off well. It was very laid back and chilled out. Things were just flowing like the desert wind. But they just got weirder and weirder with the turn of every page. I don’t know. The fact that the book was translated in to English was probably the reason I didn’t really feel whatever I was supposed to have felt while reading it. I do understand that the essence of a book is pretty much always lost when the translation thing happens. I didn’t hate it but I didn’t love it either. It was just meh and felt like something I probably would have read as a kid. But then again, there are so many of my childhood favourites that I would have loved reading now even if I had never read them before. Though I did like the story (probably only because it reminded me of fables), somewhat, I’m sad to say that it unfortunately did not live up to the hype (for me at least) and in no way did it “change my life” or inspire me. Would I read it again? Probably not. Would I recommend this to anyone else? Same answer. I’m not disappointed though. I’m glad I did get the chance to read it. I have mixed feelings about the whole thing. So overall, I guess it was just okay.

Leave a Reply

