The Elite (The Selection #2)

Read from July 15 to 17, 2015

The Elite (The Selection, #2)The Elite by Kiera Cass

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

So I was pretty excited to read this as soon as I got it. Things picked up pretty fast but I kinda knew the elimination process would drag out till the very end (the next book is called ‘The One’ so I figured it would get there pretty slowly). The first half of the book reminded me of ‘The Vampire Diaries’. You may wonder why. It’s probably because of the insane love triangle or the fact that she is in love with both guys. Just like Elena. I always found Elena annoying because she just couldn’t make her mind up, but I wasn’t ready to brand America as ‘Elena: Part 2’ just yet. I wanted to give her time till the end of the book before passing my judgement. Things got a little shaky afterwards with Maxon. Firstly, he just watched Marlee and Carter being caned. But then there was a perfectly reasonable explanation for that and he made me smile and root for him the moment he set up that secret meeting between America and Marlee. Just as I was about to continue liking him, he started showing newfound interest in Kriss (I guess it was to be expected when America kept being this confused) and that weird thing with Celeste (Is he out of his mind? What a typical man!). He seemed like just another spoilt prince of IllΓ©a after the Celeste thing. I think I started despising him a little bit just like America did. When he stood up for her though after the presentations I felt like there was still a glimmer of hope. Everything made so much more sense when he explained everything to her in the bunker (or whatever it was called) during the attack on the palace. I teared up when I realized that the King was an abuser. It made me furious. How dare he beat his own son in that way? I think America realized how much she ruined her chances by always doubting him (I did too). But I still have hope for them. I haven’t given up on them yet. Here’s hoping she fights for him and wins back his trust. Oh yeah and it would help if the King would die and leave the people in peace so that the caste system could be abolished. Overall, it ws a good follow-up to its prequel but I liked the first book a lot better. I hope the next one is good and doesn’t disappoint.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Great Review! I didn’t like the book as much as you did unfortunately.

    My Review https://bettybookreviews.wordpress.com/2017/02/06/the-elite-review/

    Like

    1. Thanks! I loved your review too! πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

