The One (The Selection #3)

Read from August 09 to 12, 2015

The One (The Selection, #3)The One by Kiera Cass

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

*SPOILERS*

What a perfect ending to the first story! I was so happy! This was yet another great book in the series. As always, very little time was taken to build up the plot to the level of intensity that I love while reading any book. There were so many little twists that I did not see coming at all. Like who would have even thought that Celeste was capable of having a soul? So obviously I was pretty bummed when a bullet went through her head. Why did she have to die? Why wasn’t it Elise? She is probably the most boring of them all. The whole I-have-to-be-perfect routine was a tad bit annoying. The other thing that I did not see coming was the fact that both America’s dad and Kriss were Northern rebels (even if one of them was merely a supporter)! It was also pretty sad that he had to die. Of all the things on Earth, I’m glad it wasn’t some dramatic clΓ­che thing that killed him and he just had a nice natural death. The Aspen thing was just insane. I guess I kind of expected Maxon to find out about America and Aspen in some dramatic way. Those letters by Maxon just tore my heart up. It was so full of love and cheesiness that I think I felt a little tear slip out of the corner of my eye while reading the particular set of pages. I almost believed that Maxon was going to die after that attack. Thank God he didn’t and realized that he belongs with no one but America. I was sad that Queen Amberly had to be killed off but I’m beyond glad that King Clarkson said goodbye. And when in the world did the Aspen-Lucy thing happen?? I was pretty bummed that we were not given any insight in to their backstory. That would have acutually been interesting to read about. The wedding was so beautiful (in my head at least) and it was pretty cool of America to ask Aspen to walk her down the aisle since her father wouldn’t be able to. Also, yay! Marlee’s back! Overall, I really liked this book! Can’t wait to read the next one tonight!

Leave a Reply

