Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy #1)

Read from June 27 to 29, 2015

Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy, #1)Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’m just going to go ahead an be honest about something. This book was on my TBR list for a really long time and the only reason I picked it up was so I could use it in an Instagram book challenge. I’d never read anything with vampires and this particular challenge needed me to showcase my favorite series with vampires. I didn’t know if this was going to be my favorite because I’ve never had anything else to compare it with. Why did I pick this series then? Because everyone seemed to be in love with this so I thought why not.

This book started off alright. I had trouble connecting with the characters until Christian Ozera made an appearance. He is honestly the life of the series. If it hadn’t been for his character, I probably would have tossed the book aside for another day and never looked back.

Things started getting interesting halfway and helped me go on. I guess I was only just a little annoyed that the book had failed to grasp my attention in the beginning itself. It didn’t matter though. Midway works for me too (as long as it’s not the end of the book like We Were Liars which drove me nuts and failed to make me love it due to the plot twist coming way too late.)

By the end of the book, I was quite satisfied with everything to want to read the next book. My interest was piqued. I think Richelle Mead did a great job introducing things to us about the characters in this book. It’s understandable that all the good juicy bits have been reserved for the other books.

This was my honest opinion when I read this back in October and right now I can definitely say this is my favorite vampire series! I don’t think I need to even compare it to anything else.

Leave a Reply

