We Were Liars

Read from July 04 to 06, 2015

We Were LiarsWe Were Liars by E. Lockhart

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

2.5/5
Ok so a few chapters in, I thought it was pretty nice. Very witty writing. The Sinclair family was annoying. At least that’s what I gathered from Cadence’s narration. As I kept reading, things started making less sense. Cady’s missing memories, Penny’s constant nagging over how Cady needed to act normal and Harris’ bizarre behaviour totally frustrated me. And what was up with the liars keeping secrets? With 20 pages to go I had lost all hope. This book was not what I had expected at all. I was promised an awesome story but this seemed to be going nowhere. I felt disappointed. I had waited for a ” :O ” moment and it hadn’t showed up. I was almost at the end of the book. My sister told me that the ending would probably make sense. That was probably the idea. So I picked the book back up and read the next page. As I read the first few sentences of that page, I had my ” :O ” moment! OMG. I did not see that coming! Everything made soooo much more sense and I realized that everyone was right. This story is indeed awesome if you give it a chance. All the disappointment I had initially felt just vanished. I’m so glad I didn’t give up on it halfway through. I found the style of writing a bit annoying at first but I got over it eventually. I felt like things kinda dragged a bit at times with a handful of pointless conversations between the liars. Overall, it was pretty good I guess. It would have made a better movie tbh.

Leave a Reply

