I’ll Give You the Sun

I'll Give You the SunI’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Will this be a sequel to my “We Were Liars” review?
Yes. Yes it will.

This book reminded so so much of my time reading the book I just mentioned. I waited and waited and waited (God knows for how long) for the book to get interesting. In a 371 page book, you’d expect things to pick up at least after 75-100 pages of meh. Unfortunately, everything was just so messed up and I honestly fell asleep quite a number of times. This has not happened since the time I read “Looking for Alaska” (which bored me to death btw).

When I first began reading this book, I really liked how the author used artistic metaphors. I found out that the only thing Noah and Jude seemed to have in common was their ability to be melodramatic. This was all fine and amusing in the beginning but then it just wouldn’t stop. Eventually, it got on my nerves. There’s only so much crazy one can handle.

description

I liked how the story went back and forth between the twins and between two different time periods. I also loved the potrait descriptions! I feel like maybe the author is an artist herself. If not, she could definitely be one. I had no idea whether I liked or hated the twins. Are 14-16 year olds really capable of being this complex? Noah was sort of a bit more interesting than Jude. I think it was the way he painted pictures in his head that fascinated me. Jude was just so messed up in the head. I couldn’t even decide what was crazier — her talking to their dead grandma or her stuffing onions in her pockets.

I really liked the last 100 pages. I just wish the first 271 of them had been just as interesting. It just took so long to get my undivided attention. I’m disappointed that I expected so much. This could have been so much better if things hadn’t dragged on for so long.

description

Leave a Reply

