January 2017: Wrap-up & Haul

DSC_0388.jpg

This year kicked off quite splendidly. I was super pumped up and was all set to conquer my Goodreads challenge. I set it to 50 because I was very disappointed at my goals last year and the year before that. I always aimed at 20-25 books because I was too busy with medical school. Now that I’m free of all that, I wanted to set something I can actually be proud of attaining.

Week 1

My first week was very productive in the bookish department. I read seven books. Some of them were on the smaller side but they still count and my first read of the year was also my last read of 2016.

  1. I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson:
    This book did NOT live up to the hype. It dragged on for too long, was filled with unnecessary artistic metaphors that got on my nerves at some point, and had so many characters that were just too messed up to be realistic in any way. I liked the last 100 pages and that’s the only reason I thought it was an okay read and gave it 3 stars.
  2. Copycat by Kimberla Lawson Roby:
    I received a copy of this book from the publisher. It was straight to the point and devoid of any BS. The author delivered the story perfectly without needing to resort to a dramatic writing style or use unnecessary descriptions to oomph it up. It was a very satisfying read but not “epic” in my terms so I gave it 3 stars.
  3. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne:
    Despite the copious amounts of shade this book received from many Potterheads, I loved it! All I had to do was read it like a script and have no prior expectations. I gave it 4 stars and not 5 due to a couple of issues I had (which can be found in my review of the book).
  4. Quidditch Through the Ages by Kennilworthy Whisp (J.K. Rowling):
    4 stars for great information and insight into the world of Quidditch. I expected to be bored but was pleasantly surprised at how interesting it was!
  5. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by Newt Scamander (J.K. Rowling):
    I gave this 4 stars. It was full of interesting facts and I loved the personal touch it had with those little notes by the Golden Trio.
  6. The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K. Rowling:
    I loved the collection of stories so I gave it 4 stars!
  7. Adulthood Is a Myth by Sarah Andersen:
    This was more of a comic book but it was the best thing ever! If you haven’t read this book, you definitely MUST pick it up!


Week 2

  1. A Million Worlds With You by Claudia Gray:
    I began reading this book in Week 2 but continued it into Week 3 as well because I was caught up with life. The first 40 pages were confusing because I could not remember so much from the previous books. This is the biggest disadvantage of books being released a year or more apart. This unfortunately, cannot be helped as we can’t expect authors to write sequels in minutes or even days. Perfection takes time. Unfortunately, I didn’t finish this book by the end of the month as I got caught up with other books and I think I need to concentrate on this one properly later on.


Week 3:

  1. A Series of Unfortunate Events #2: The Reptile Room by Lemony Snicket:
    With all the excitement surrounding the release of the TV series on Netflix, I felt like I needed to reread some of the books and actually finish the ones I never got to read as a kid. I don’t know why I never finished the series and I can’t really remember what I read last so I decided I would just read everything all over again (with the exception of the first book as I remember every single detail of it for some odd reason).
  2. A Series of Unfortunate Events #3: The Wide Window by Lemony Snicket:
    I read this while watching the episodes based on it so I was able to notice the little differences between both of them. Watching the episodes pumped me up even more and this book was even more interesting to read because I was able to imagine the characters the way they were on the show. Aunt Josephine = Grammar police! She’s hilarious!
  3. A Series of Unfortunate Events #4: The Miserable Mill by Lemony Snicket:
    Although I liked this book, it was a little more on the miserable side compared to the others. I’m beginning to feel really sorry for the Baudelaire children.
  4. A Series of Unfortunate Events #5: The Austere Academy by Lemony Snicket:
    The vice principal is probably one of the most annoying characters in existence! I love the Quagmire triplets! I also liked the blossoming *cough* romancesΒ *cough* friendships πŸ˜‰

Week 4 & 5:

  1. A Series of Unfortunate Events #6: The Ersatz Elevator by Lemony Snicket:
    I found this book quite interesting. Jerome Squalor reminded me of Monty. He was really nice to the children and cared for them as a guardian should. EsmΓ© Squalor was such an irritating snob. I didn’t like her from the get-go and I was right to dislike her too.


BOOK HAUL:

I bought only one book this month so it’s not really even a tiny haul haha. I got myself a copy of “My Love True Love Gave to Me” whenΒ  I went to the bookstore two weeks ago to get my Comic con ticket. I ordered “A Court of Thorns and Roses” from Book Depository back in November but it got stuck somewhere on its way here and it arrived just last week.

I also received an ARC of “The Blue Moon Narthex by N.J. Donner” from the author himself. I haven’t gotten around to reading it yet as I received it only last week. I’m definitely reading it next and a review will be up as soon as I finish! The book’s coming out on the 7th of February so that’s pretty exciting!


GOODREADS CHALLENGE UPDATE:

Monthly Goal: 4/50
Actually Read: 12/50

I’m crushing this challenge so far! Let’s hope things stay that way. What are you all reading at the moment and what’s your reading goal for the year? Do let me know in the comments below. I would also love to hear book recommendations too. I’m always looking for something interesting to read.

Leave a Reply

