The Girl on the Train

The Girl on the TrainRead from June 03 to June 10, 2017

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

 

Summary:
Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning and night. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. Jess and Jason, she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost. And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything’s changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel goes to the police. But is she really as unreliable as they say? Soon she is deeply entangled not only in the investigation but in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good?

description

This book was recommended to me by my sister who read it around two weeks ago. She wanted to watch the movie before she forgot the story so even though I began reading the book immediately, I only managed to get through a quarter of it before we watched the movie together.

I regret watching the movie before finishing the book. It had so many plot holes and I had so many unanswered questions. I’m not saying the movie was bad. It was quite good (minus the obvious problems) and I was informed by my sister that there were a couple of minor differences between the book and the movie (which is totally fine imo). After watching the movie, I sort of lost my motivation to read the book for a few days but then I forced myself to get back into it. I’m glad I did because things got really good!


The Issues

1. That opening paragraph confused the crap outta me until I reached the end of the book (when it finally made sense).
“One for sorrow, two for joy, three for a girl . . . Three for a girl. I’m stuck on three, I just can’t get any further. My head is thick with sounds, my mouth thick with blood. Three for a girl. I can hear the magpies—they’re laughing, mocking me, a raucous cackling. A tiding. Bad tidings. I can see them now, black against the sun. Not the birds, something else. Someone’s coming. Someone is speaking to me. Now look. Now look what you made me do.”
2. Since this book was told from three different POVs, the time shift back and forth was a little difficult to deal with in the beginning. I eventually started making sense of it though.


The Good Stuff:

1. The story progressed quite nicely and didn’t really drag unnecessarily
2. I loved the twist towards the end of the book. I definitely did not see that coming!
3. I liked that the author was able to tell the story from three POVs and actually make them sound like three totally different individuals

Overall impression: I really liked this book! It was a little creepy and it makes you think about how people can be a certain way on the outside and be totally different on the inside. Although I loved the twist, my mind wasn’t exactly blown to the point that I would give it 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

