The Blue Moon Narthex

The Blue Moon NarthexRead from April 26 to June 14, 2017

The Blue Moon Narthex by N.J. Donner

My rating: 3.75 of 5 stars


Summary:

The balance of good and evil has been left in the hands of a thirteen year old…Since the beginning of time, Karmanic matter worked silently and unassisted keeping good and evil in balance, until growing greed in the world meant Karma couldn’t keep up. As World War I rages, the secret Karmanic Sovereign Legion works behind the scenes to help Karma. A suspicious train accident and an odd stone-shaped object that belonged to his father thrust Cole McCarthy and two schoolmates into the middle of this battle to keep dark forces in check. With only the powerful stone, a letter, and grandfatherly Norm to guide them, the trio must unravel clues and tap into unknown strengths to discover who Cole’s father really was and keep themselves and those they love safe.


I received a copy of this book from the publishers in exchange for an honest review

This book reminded me so much of the Percy Jackson series (which is a good thing). I honestly didn’t know what to expect going into it and I was a little confused in the beginning. The story grew on me though. The characters were likable and I liked how things progressed.

The Issues :
1. The beginning was a little confusing. There were so many names to remember and I was unable to connect with most of the supporting characters because of this.
2. I kept forgetting about the time period that the book was set in because some of the stuff felt very present day-ish / futuristic .
3. Although I liked this book, there was still something missing that I can’t quite put my finger on.
4. It’s meant to be a YA novel but I got some middle grade vibes while reading it. It was honestly not really an issue for me but I’m just putting it out there.

The Good Stuff:
1. The story progressed quite nicely and didn’t really drag unnecessarily.
2. Britten – He’s my favorite character and I loved his sense of humor.
3. The Bahjani – They are so cool!
4. The battle at the end was rather short and I liked that because I honestly don’t like reading about battles in too much detail.
5. I loved that the author used his kids’ names for the main characters.

Random Thoughts:
1. I bet Sophie is going to find a use for all that neutral matter some day.
2. The Bahjani extend invitations for people to join them if they display patience and goodwill. I have a really strong feeling that they’ll be sending one out to Sophie in the future.
3. This bit reminded me of the first Harry Potter book and a conversation between the golden trio:
Cole: I’m going alone
Sophie: Absolutely not
Britten: What she said. You’re stuck with us no matter what.
4. This series would make such a great movie / tv show. I would love to see everything come alive.

Overall impression: I really liked this book! Even though the beginning was a little confusing, it got really interesting later on. I can’t wait for the next book to come out! It’s definitely something that any PJ / HP fan should pick up.

Leave a Reply

