Wonder

WonderWonder by R.J. Palacio

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Summary:
I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.
August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream schoolβ€”until now. He’s about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you’ve ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie’s just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, despite appearances?

I saw the trailer of this movie a few weeks ago and loved it! I knew I had to go read the book before the movie came out. I’m so glad I did!

The Issues :
1. I wish this came out when I was younger, haha. I can’t really call it an issue but had I been a kid, I would have been able to appreciate this book more.
2. I would loved to have seen a lot more emotional stuff. Things were a little too upbeat (not that I have a problem with that). I guess what I wanted was to know more about the difficulties Auggie went through before he could do things on his own.
3. The story is told through multiple POVs. A POV chapter with the parents would have been awesome to read. Then again, it’s a middle-grade book so that probably wouldn’t fit there.

The Good Stuff:
1. I’m a sucker for multiple POV books, so this was perfect!
2. I loved Via’s POV. It makes you realize that all kids want to be loved and need attention from their parents. I also loved how strong she was.
3. This story is great for kids in middle school to teach them the importance of being kind and how they shouldn’t be mean to someone just because they look different or simply are different.
4. Mr. Browne’s precepts!

Random Thoughts:
1. Julian is the kind of kid who deserves a punch in the face. There, I said it. Oh and his mother was just beyond annoying.
2. Summer is awesome!
3. The part where Auggie was at school in a Bleeding Scream costume and overheard the conversation between Julian and Jack just broke my heart. Kids can be so mean 😦

description

Overall impression: I loved this book and can’t wait to see the movie bring all these great characters to life!

Leave a Reply

